I think I Do

27 Oct

The first time you said, “I love you”,  we were classmates and friends. My thought then, “Love is too big a word for teens like us.”

For many years, we continued to be friends, although apart, you let your presence be felt. 

When i first got my heart broken, you were there to catch me after that hard fall. 

I fell for you then, but the timing wasn’t right for you were committed. 

When you were finally single after 6 years, you said, “I love you” and over a bottle of vodka with friends i let you pursue.

But after a day, i discovered the feeling i once had for you, although fleeting, wasn’t there. I said “Stop now, let’s just still be friends.”

Then, life happened,.

I lost my father. You let me cry over your shoulder. 

You had another girlfriend while i got busy with my work.

After a year, i went back to our town, found a job and you became my brod. 

I let you in again in my life.

I was alone and you offered me you as companion.

I was sad but you make me glad.

You became my anchor.

Until i imagined you to be my harbor.

Until i think, i felt you and your message came across.

You really do love me and i think this time, “I do again.” 

Leave a Reply

